BJC welcomes new editorial board members

Br J Cardiol 2014;21:146 Leave a comment
Click any image to enlarge
First published online 24 October 2014

We are proud to welcome the following new members to our editorial board

Dr Sarah Clarke is a Consultant Cardiologist and the Clinical Director for Strategic Development at Papworth Hospital, Cambridge. She has a specialist interest in interventional cardiology. Sarah has a track record in management, service innovation and implementation. She is President-elect of the British Cardiovascular Society (BCS) and will be keeping us updated on BCS news and progress towards the European Society of Cardiology (ESC) meeting to be held in London in 2015

Dr Yassir Javaid is a general practitioner with an interest in cardiology and echocardiography and was a clinical lead in the Northamptonshire Community Cardiology service. More recently he has become involved in a number of cardiology up-skilling projects within primary care in the East Midlands with the aim of improving the optimisation of patients with heart failure, atrial fibrillation and stable coronary disease. He is the CVD lead for the East Midlands Strategic Clinical Network and is tasked with addressing the unwarranted variation in cardiovascular related premature mortality seen across the region

Dr Dermot Neely is Consultant Chemical Pathologist, Head of the Clinical Biochemistry Department and Honorary Clinical Lecturer, University of Newcastle School of Clinical and Laboratory Sciences, and Lead Consultant for the Lipid and Metabolic Outpatient Clinic, Royal Victoria Infirmary, Newcastle which provides a secondary and tertiary dyslipidaemia referral service for the North-East of the UK. His major research interests are familial hypercholesterolaemia and dyslipidaemia associated with insulin resistance and the metabolic syndrome. Dr Neely is Chairman of the medical and scientific research committee of Heart UK, a heart-health charity

Ms Catherine Ross is a Cardiac Physiologist who has specialised in cardiac ultrasound. Catherine has had key roles on the Northern Ireland branch of the Society for Cardiological Science and Technology (SCST) and is currently the Chair of that group. She is also Honorary Secretary of the SCST council and Chair the SCST Communications committee and is involved in the review of articles for the Scientific Journal for SCST. She has also been involved in the writing the ECG national guidance document and has made many contributions to field of cardiac physiology. Catherine will be representing SCST on the BJC editorial board

Professor Sanjay Sharma is Professor of Inherited Cardiac Diseases and Sports Cardiology, Consultant Cardiologist at St George’s Healthcare NHS Trust, and medical director of the London Marathon. Professor Sharma has an international reputation in cardiovascular adaptation in athletes, sudden cardiac death in the young and heart muscle diseases. His research has been pivotal in characterising the impact of age, sex and ethnicity on cardiovascular adaptation to exercise and in the identification of non-invasive methods of differentiating electrocardiographic and echocardiographic manifestations of cardiomyopathy and ion channel disorders from those representing ‘athlete’s heart’